Skip to content

Study Painting: The View, Salmon Lake

September 17, 2012
'The View, Salmon Lake' (2012) by Jamie Kapitain.

‘The View, Salmon Lake’ (2012) by Jamie Kapitain. 2-hour oil study on canvas board, 8×10 inches.

Going against my tendency to meticulously capture a high degree of accuracy and detail, I challenged myself with this two-hour study painting. This is a view that I’ve enjoyed for over twenty years so I worked as much from what I saw on the day as from memory. There are some interesting color choices and some ‘good mistakes’ that resulted from having no time to linger. In the end, this was a good exercise that took me out of my comfort zone and reminded me that there is always something to learn in painting.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

