Skip to content

New Painting: Diablo Canyon, New Mexico

January 25, 2011

'Diablo Canyon, New Mexico' (2010) by Jamie Kapitain. Oil on canvas, 9x12 inches.

Recently, I spent a week in New Mexico in and around Santa Fe visiting the galleries and hiking the high desert canyons. I wrote about the trip and shared some of my sketches in previous blog posts. This painting depicts Diablo Canyon, 30 minutes outside of Santa Fe, where I went on my first hike. There was no one around except for a group of African runners training on the narrow dirt road we drove in on followed by their coach in a car. Heading directly down the middle of the canyon I spotted rock climbing anchors in the rock face on the right. We found out later from a local that the canyon was a favourite spot for climbers. I was delighted by the colors and sunlight having just arrived from the cold, gray November weather in Ontario. The high desert landscape is made for painting with every object – rocks, mesas, shrubs – ideally spaced for the light to create bold shadows and highlights. It’s no wonder that so many artists have been captivated by New Mexico.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Cameron H. permalink
    January 27, 2011 5:58 pm

    For sale???

    • Jamie permalink
      January 27, 2011 8:39 pm

      Cameron,

      This painting is not for sale because it’s the first desert-scape I’ve done and I want to keep it for reference. There will be more and I’ll post them on the blog. Thanks for the interest.

  2. Cameron H. permalink
    January 27, 2011 8:43 pm

    Well, I’ll console myself with the thought that there may be another in the future. Great location for some inspiration.

Trackbacks

  1. New Painting: Near Abiquiu, New Mexico « Jamie Kapitain Artist
  2. Sketch: Kitchen Mesa Trail, New Mexico « Jamie Kapitain Artist
  3. New Painting: Diablo Canyon, New Mexico No.2 « Jamie Kapitain Painting Blog

Leave a Reply

