Skip to content

Backyard Wildlife Sighting

January 6, 2011

Sharp-shinned hawk in backyard. Photo taken by Jamie Kapitain, January 6, 2011.

This morning when I came down from the studio for a cup of coffee, I was surprised to find a large Sharp-shinned Hawk in the middle of the backyard. The hawk had just captured something and I immediately worried that it might be ‘Acorn’, the resident chipmunk that the family has grown attached to over the years. I scurried back up to the studio, grabbed my camera and managed to snap some photos before the bird flew off. Inspection of the kill site revealed that a mourning dove was likely the prey.

I live in beautiful downtown Guelph where squirrels, raccoons and chipmunks are common. This is the first time I’ve seen a large bird of prey in the yard since we moved into the house ten years ago. It’s a serendipitous sighting because lately I have been depicting wildlife in my daily sketching exercises and my daughter and I had looked at hawk images on the web just this past weekend. I’ll post some of my wildlife sketches soon.

Leave a Reply

