Skip to content

New Painting: Father’s Day in the Backyard

July 22, 2010

'Father's Day in the Backyard' (2010) by Jamie Kapitain, oil on canvas board, 8x10 inches.

On Father’s Day I spent the afternoon in the backyard painting. My kids were running around giggling and my wife relaxed beside me with a drink as we chatted. I set up my tabletop easel and created this canvas of the garden bench we got as a wedding present twelve years ago. The bench sits on the deck that I built with my father in front of the old oak that protects us from the sun during family dinners. The memories attached to the elements in the painting combined with the memory of a relaxing Father’s Day afternoon with my family makes this little painting very valuable to me. It is not the best painting I’ve done but it will certainly rank as one of the most meaningful ones.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

