Skip to content

Study Painting: Early Spring Near Guelph

May 16, 2010

'Early Spring Near Guelph - Study' (2007) by Jamie Kapitain, oil on canvas board, 8x10 inches.

Recently, I found this study painting capturing the early spring dogwoods and ‘hip’ earth tones of the fields around Guelph. The study was done in 2007 and at the time, the palette didn’t fit with the direction of my work. Often when I’m working on a painting, I turn it to the wall for several weeks in order to come back to it with fresh eyes. Little things that I might be obsessing over after 30 or 50 hours at the easel are no longer issues after I step away and take a break. Now, this study painting, after sitting in the studio closet for three years, looks great to me. I like the play of the sun on the tree bark, the distance beyond the trees and the color palette is strong. This painting is high up on the short list for my next large painting.

Leave a Reply

