Skip to content

A Painting is the Most Expensive Artwork Ever Sold

May 4, 2010

Just two days ago I wrote about paintings accounting for 9 of the 10 most expensive pieces of art ever sold. At the time, the top spot was held by Giacometti’s sculpture Walking Man I ($104.3 million) and I expressed my desire to see a painting on the top of the list. Today, my request was granted when Picasso’s 1932 painting Nude, Green Leaves and Bust sold for a record $106 million. That was fast. I wonder if my plea helped lift the sale price?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

